Come on in, the water’s fine


cc licensed flickr photo shared by gothick_matt

Exploring web-based technology challenges today’s educators to remain students themselves. Recently I presented a workshop on digital identity and social media to a group of receptive teacher-librarians. Despite their willingness to learn, question, and explore it became apparent that there was no avoiding the overwhelming flood of information. With so much to consider and so many technical skills needed it’s akin to being information soaked by a fire hose. These topics and tools are complexly interrelated and have their own language and expectations. And even though I was the guide for this particular session – I realized I related to how they felt. I have experienced the dazzle and thrill of classes taught by Dr. Alec Couros, and know firsthand what it is like to wonder if I could possibly keep up. It was a colleague of his, Dean Shareski, that I remember telling me to go slowly and give myself time.

The web opens up endless possibilities for educators. Its constant state of flux means the only thing we can truly master is our ability to learn. I was honoured to work with the teacher-librarians that attended the workshop because their passion for learning was palpable, and they were committed to working through complex ideas and technology. For myself, I continue to proceed at my own pace, and savour every opportunity. While I’m pretty decent at technology, I’m no tech superstar. Luckily, I know many technical experts through my PLN and don’t hesitate to tweet for help when necessary.

So I’m going wading, and if the water is too cold I may have to acclimatize for a bit before venturing deeper. And that’s ok. Because I am going swimming and I’m planning on getting my hair wet.


cc licensed flickr photo shared by joebart

2 responses to “Come on in, the water’s fine

  1. Deborah Snowden

    Kudos to you for taking part in this and exploring new ideas and technologies. It’s awesome that you’re not done learning. One must never be done learning!

  2. I love that you said you are going to go swimming and get your hair wet. I think it is so important for teachers to keep up with the new technology in the classroom. The world is continuously going to change around us, and it is our job to change with it. If we don’t, then it will leave us behind; it is going to stop. It is our job as educators to move forward with the new technology even if we don’t necessarily want to. Yes it may be confusing and scary, or maybe we just don’t want to change, but it is something we have to do to teach to the best of our abilities.

Leave a Reply

